The Answer is Yes!

I’m clothed in drab, human skin and feel every inch of humanity as I get on my knees before Him.

“Lord. You have laid hold of me…let me now lay hold of You. Both hands, Lord, both hands.”

“Jesus, show me how to do this!”

“As the Father loved You, so You have loved me, Jesus. Help me abide in Your love.”

“Jesus, I call on You! Imperfectly and in only partial belief, but it is all I know to do. Save me from this pride and control and self reliance. I am a woman of unclean hands, lips, and heart, and I need Your fire of cleansing to purify me. Will You do this?”

“Will You let me know You? Really GET You, God? Oh, how I want to understand You, know Your ways!”

Throughout the days I keep finding my knees, keep asking, keep seeking, keep knocking. Until I realize…it is becoming a way of life for me.

Then. Today. Little one tells me her cup is out of water. “Okay, what do you do?” I prompt her.

“May I have some more water please?”

“The answer is YES!” I tell her.

We have done this particular little exercise hundreds of times, me trying to teach her to ask and she will receive… Her asking time and time again, and me saying “YES!” And I wonder, when will she really get it? When will her relationship with me reflect a deep, abiding trust? When will she KNOW that she is part of me, of us, and when will she not hesitate to put me out for her sake?

But this time the words come back at me, a response from Him spoken from my own lips: “The answer is YES!”

“All those requests you are making…all those desires for righteousness and truth and love and grace you are pouring out before Me…all those tears that have no words… the answer is YES!”

“And when will you finally get it, that you are part of Me, of US, and when will you not hesitate to put Us out on your behalf? You know you have the entire throne room of Grace at your disposal… you know I say ask and you will receive…”

Right there at the lunch table I jump up and leap for joy! “The answer is YES!” I say again and again and they laugh at their crazy momma.

And I know something new today: Some prayers are best made on bended knees. Others, on leaping legs.


“For no matter how many promises God has made, they

are YES in Christ.” II Corinthians 1:20

6 Comments on “The Answer is Yes!”

  1. jen says:

    what else is there to say, but…YES! and thank you.

  2. Jennifer says:

    AMEN AND AMEN AND AMEN!!!!!! Thank you so much for these words of encouragement. I needed to hear this. Thank you Lord for your perfect timing with all things.

  3. The answer is Yes. The answer is always Yes. Thanks for the reminder.

  4. Nicole says:

    I just found your blog through Sara Mae and wanted to say AMEN to this. I read your comment about core lies and found myself identifying with you through and abusive childhood and false religion as a young child into early adulthood. Learning not rely on others came easily, including not relying on God. In the past few years as I enter a more mature understanding of the love God has for me, I am blessed by women like you that will share their path so that others can learn. Thank you.

  5. Dawn says:

    Thanks for your transparency. My husband and I have adopted 3 children. I struggle every day with focusing on behaviors instead of hearts. When my focus is on controling the unpleasant behaviors, everyone in my house loses….I hate it!! Again, thank you for your openess. May God richly bless you and cause His grace to overflow to all those around you.

  6. […] This little girl of mine who doesn’t trust. Doesn’t receive. Doesn’t hear and see and lay hold. […]


Leave a Reply

