2011: Time to Grow Up

I watched the baby kick and reach for the toy in front of him.

To the mouth it went.

I smiled as I thought of all the things my kids have salivated on. Good, bad, nasty, even dangerous things have all gone into their mouths.

A characteristic of infancy is what you allow to be ingested.

I often wonder why the American church seems so powerless.

The condition of the church is no big surprise to anyone; this isn’t “news.” It is a fact that we know and hear about and cluck our tongues over, but tell ourselves it isn’t true of me.

Yet the fact still remains that while materially blessed to the point of obesity, we are spiritual infants. Powerless. We consume resource after resource, attend seminar and conferences, yet  we do not say to the weak, wounded beggar, “In the name of Jesus, get up and walk.”

This troubles me greatly.

By this time you should be teachers. But in fact you need someone to teach you all over again. You need even the simple truths of God’s word. You need milk, not solid food.

Anyone who lives on milk is still a baby. That person does not want to learn about living a godly life. Solid food is for those who are grown up. They have trained themselves with a lot of practice. They can tell the difference between good and evil.” Hebrews 5:12-14, NIRV

The question begs to be asked. Am I an infant, ingesting everything that comes my way, mindlessly gumming and salivating my way through Christianity; or am I constantly training my spiritual senses, learning how to really live a godly life?

 Spiritual maturity comes through spiritual practice, the training of your spiritual senses.

This is more than simply reading your Bible, doing family devotions, memorizing scripture, increasing prayer time, and the like. These things are good and necessary, but training the spiritual senses is different altogether.

Training the spiritual senses means establishing lifestyle patterns of percieving and living life. It means seeing God in everything. It means recognizing quickly those things that will aid and benefit you and those that will harm and pollute you.

This isn’t a five step program. It isn’t a list of things to check off. This is a lifestyle and it takes time to form these new patterns and habits. But boy, I can tell you, it is worth it!

I am beginning a bible study with our ladies at church on spiritual habits and will posting them here as well, hopefully every Monday?? I’m taking one habit a month so as not to overwhelm with too much at once. The goal is realistic: cultivate one habit each month and add on as we go.

Each Monday I will post content related to that month’s particular habit.

This is not about doing, it is about training your spiritual person to be mature. Below I am including a tentative outline for the habits we will be working on.

Month 1: The Habit of “Know”

Month 2: The Habit of “Love”

Month 3: The Habit of “Abide”

Month 4: The Habit of “Grace”

Month 5: The Habit of “Repent”

Month 6: The Habit of “Humility”

**Subject to change at any time, because after all, I am a woman.

If you would like to join in, I’d love to hear from you (and I say that nervously, because there’s likely to be no comments?) And invite a friend too?

If the community- you!-  saw fit to make this interactive, that would be wonderful. I can learn so much from you all. {But you are wonderful in any case 🙂 }

7 Comments on “2011: Time to Grow Up”

  1. Debbie Fowler says:

    This post, as well as the other one you linked to, goes right along with the word God has given me for this year… COMMUNION… “come closer”. I would love to journey through these habits this year with you. It’s so much less about “doing” and so much more about “being”. Being in the practice of being in the presence of the only One who can grow and mature me. I love the idea of cultivating these habits each month. It’s like cultivating the gardens of our souls… tilling the soil, preparing it, watering it… pruning will likely occur… and waiting! It will be exciting to see what blossoms month by month!

  2. Jasmine B says:

    An interactive Bible study sounds amazing! Cultivating new habits to grow my spiritual person sounds amazing! It is greatly needed! I’m in! 🙂 And others will join me for sure!

  3. Georgette says:

    Sounds wonderful! I’m in! 🙂

  4. Michelle says:

    I look forward to following your bible study. It seems timely for me. I am determined that 2011 be a year of spiritual growth for myself, so having some guidance through bible study will be perfect.

  5. Janelle says:

    I’m in. 🙂

  6. Arabah Joy says:

    You guys are the best! I’ll stammer through and see if He’ll make sense of it…

  7. Renee Stam says:

    it’s like you read my mind!!!! I been having the same taught lately!!! how often I see christian reading the Word and not LIVING the Word!!! because it’s more then just ‘words’ being children of God is a way of living and how we can be set apart is to be LIVING the WORD changing and being transform by it.

    The old is gone and the new as come, new life in Christ show our transformation from sinners to believers!


Leave a Reply

