Ridiculous

It is ridiculous the way He treats me, it really is.

Kids have been sick with a stomach bug, ear infections, and more. I’ve been trying to keep up on the piles of laundry and the bleaching to keep germs from spreading, fighting off sickness myself.

And through it all, yesterday’s mail sat in the box all night, getting soaked with the rain that’s replaced the snow of late.

This morning I splashed through the puddles in house shoes. I retrieved the soggy mess and flipped through the ads and solicitations.

A hand addressed envelope.

I opened that one first.

I scanned the letter. Jaw drops as something flutters out. A large check. From someone who does not know us but “got our name” from someone else.

Like I said, it is ridiculous the way He treats me.

I go back and re-read the letter. What I find there is even more surprising, the un-mistakable “God print” that speaks of His authorship of this generous gift: Joshua 1:8-9, part of my key passage for 2011.

The kids are listening to K-Love and one of my favorite songs is playing. “And if our God is with us, then what can stand against?”

I get down on my knees and thank Him, awestruck.

Sure, the financial gift is a tremendous blessing. But this scripture? The timeliness of this song? This message piercing my heart from all directions?

A reminder from the hand of God through the pen of a stranger that this is the year of conquest and He is behind me, in front of me, above me and beneath me. He is FOR ME!

Right here, right now. With the rain puddles and the sick babies and the sleepless nights and the pharmacy runs.

Thunder shakes my window pane and I inhale His sound. My heart thumps to His rumble. I hear His heart.

It is ridiculous the way He treats me. Ridiculously Lavish. Ridiculously Good. Ridiculously Loving.

Ridiculous.

3 Comments on “Ridiculous”

  1. Renee says:

    LOVE LOVE just LOVE how great is our God and how ridiculously he LOVES us!!!! Thank you for sharing this with is as we join you in Praising Him for his generosity!!!

  2. Georgette says:

    Wow! HE is soooo good to us! I pray everyone feels better soon. I must tell you to help you in the future with sickness. Go to http://www.beeyoutiful.com I LOVE their products! They have a product that stops stomach flu in its tracks. It is called Tummy Tune up. It is a quality probiotic. I even open the capsules for my 3 yr old if her tummy hurts. You can read about them & other supplements on their site. I take the supermom vitamins & I really feel a difference if I stop taking them. They give me energy & stamina. Just wanted to share our wonderful experience with this lovely family owned health product company. Be blessed!
    Georgette

  3. Arabah Joy says:

    Thank you, Georgette. I’m going to check that out. A daily vitamin is a must for me and I’m up for trying a new brand…


Leave a Reply

