The Grit and the Glory

We planted the bulbs a few weeks back, digging our hands in the soil {and finding worms along the way}

Funny how God can use a bulb to teach and dirt to nurture.

I’m decaying, like that round lump. I’m unsheathed.

The shoots are poking out of the ground now, tiny blades far stronger than they look. Their life is real, unexplained. Their Maker sprouts them from decay and Sustains them in dirt.

And I can’t explain why this makes sense, why it fits, but it does: this new life is about abiding in Him.

The awe that I get to commune with God and in this find my life, my breath, my identity, my very being.

It is the absence of self reliance, the death to protective barriers;  just the simple trust in His beauty and grace in the form of Christ within.

“I am calling you to a life of constant communion with Me. Basic training includes learning to live above your circumstances, even while interacting on that cluttered plane of life. You yearn for a simplified lifestyle, so that your communication with Me can be uninterrupted. But I challenge you to relinquish the fantasy of an uncluttered world. Accept each day just as it comes, and find Me in the midst of it all.” Sarah Young, in her “40 Days with Jesus” devotional

Yes. It is about abiding in Him no matter what the clutter in my heart, in my home, in my surroundings, in my relationships. The life springs up when I “die” to the distraction of all those things and keep rooted only in Him.

And He is always there, larger and more real than anything else.

“Remember that your ultimate goal is not to control or fix everything around you; it is to keep communing with Me.” Sarah Young

It is possible and I’m finding out the glorious truth, the beauty of Un-sheathed.

Leave a Reply

