When Navigation Systems Fail

I’ve been vigilant to check the maps, to watch the weather, to make wise choices. I’ve hedged against the danger and the risk.

I’ve used the mind God gave and employed it as an instrument of navigation, have listened well to its warnings. I don’t like going out in stormy darkness with waves tossing.

But following Jesus has taken me straight into danger, dark and deathly.

“I’m not smart enough for this, God.” I’ve finally figured that out.

It’s an SOS, whispered from a captain who’s been entrusted with lives aboard the ship. We are all in danger.

I’m in way over my head, literally. Navigation systems do fail.

That’s when He reminds me. “You’ve relied on your wits and your smarts long enough. I’m teaching you to hear Me with your heart and trust Me in Your spirit, for this is where communion with Me truly takes place.”

This is part of the un-sheathing. It’s okay to have no earthly idea what I’m doing. He knows what He’s doing.

“As long as you are relying on your mental abilities you will cave to fear and control. You will still try to fix what’s broken. Only when you embrace your “systems failure” as an ir-repairable, unchangeable fact, can you begin to tune in to My Spirit who navigates the storm.”

Let go of the wits that kept me from danger in childhood? The smarts that protected me from further abuse? Yes, that. Abandon the systems I’ve trusted in.

There’s something better.

It’s been a long, stormy ride to get to this point. I’ve done everything possible to get the navigation system up and running again, to eek out just a little more safety, just a blip of guidance. I’ve held onto it even when it stopped working straight out, afraid to let it go.

But I’m ready now.

Maybe I’m desperate enough. Maybe I’m convinced enough. Maybe it’s just grace.

But I’m ready.

The spirit system is already crackling. I’m getting the signal. It’s just on a completely different frequency.

I feel like a live-wire, like this Signal is not just navigating but electrifying me.

I’m alive.

The storm still tosses. The danger hasn’t passed, but I’m not afraid.

Because the storm isn’t actually what this is about.

I’m plugged in. He in me and I in Him and I get it now.

3 Comments on “When Navigation Systems Fail”

  1. Susan says:

    That’s when He reminds me. “You’ve relied on your wits and your smarts long enough. I’m teaching you to hear Me with your heart and trust Me in Your spirit, for this is where communion with Me truly takes place.”

    Words that have brought great hope to me today…

    Thank you so much♥

  2. Becky says:

    Oh, if I could only tell you of all the reasons that I love this, Arabah. Really. Courage giving to my soul. Thank you for writing from your heart that is FULL WIDE OPEN to the Spirit. It’s obvious. You are indeed…plugged in. Thank you for these words that give life and give light. Thank you!

  3. Renee says:

    Beautiful reminder, I like the way you have presented it 🙂


Leave a Reply

